In Physics, energy cannot be created or destroyed, but transferred and converted from one object to another. The ancient yogis and sages believed the life of a human is dependent upon chakras, energy centers or energy vortices, within the body. By understanding each chakra, their workings and co-relationships, insight is gained to the way we process energy.

Visualize the subtle energy surrounding you in the air. When inhaling a long deep breath through the nose, these centers are activated allowing Prana or life force to power each chakra and clear blocks, freeing the natural flow of energy. Similar to overflowing pools of water in a waterfall, the energy accumulates and cascades down from the Crown Chakra, top of the head, to the Root Chakra, base of the spine. There are seven chakras corresponding to areas of the endocrine system or nerve plexus in the physical body and the eighth Chakra is related to the aura or electromagnetic field outside the body.

26526006-Illustration-of-a-Girl-with-7-chakras-and-butterflies-Stock-VectorA Profile of The Chakras

  • Eighth Chakra:Radiance
  • Seventh Chakra (Crown):Humility and Vastness
  • Sixth Chakra (Third Eye):Intuition, Wisdom, and Identity
  • Fifth Chakra (Throat):Projective Power of the Word
  • Fourth Chakra (Heart):Love and Compassion
  • Third Chakra (Navel):Action and Balance
  • Second Chakra:Creativity
  • First Chakra (Root):Security and Survival

When learning about the chakras, it is important to remember no chakra stands alone; all work together. The Lower Triangle (1st, 2nd, and 3rd) focuses on elimination and reduction. The Upper Triangle (5th, 6th, and 7th) accumulates, creates and refines, while the Heart Chakra (4th) balances the two triangles. Our feelings, choices, perceptions and the types of thoughts we have are affected by the chakras. Through a daily yoga practice and breathing exercises, these energy centers can open and balance our senses to be receptive to other internal and external energies.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email